Program Committee

Program Co-chairs:
Prof. Chin-Seung Chung
KDI School of Public Policy and Management
Chairman, Ministry of Environment Affairs Oversight and Evaluation Committee
Former Vice Minister at the Ministry of Environment, Korea

Prof. Douglas J. Besharov (co-chair)
School of Public Policy, University of Maryland
Immediate Past President, Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management
Chair, APPAM Committee on International Activity
Co-editor, Comparative policy analysis series, Oxford University Press

Members of the Program Committee:

Stuart Bretschneider, Syracuse University, is associate dean and chair of the Public Administration Department of The Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs. Dr. Bretschneider was director of the Center for Technology and Information Policy at The Maxwell School from 1994 to 2006. His research has focused on how public organizations make use of information technology and the effects of those technologies on public organizations; how public organizations employ forecasting technology and organize to carry out forecasting activities; and how sector differences affect administrative processes. He has also worked on numerous funded projects associated with the evaluation of public policy in the energy, environment, and technology areas. A past president of the International Institute of Forecasters (IIF), Dr. Bretschneider was also a Director of the IIF. He was the Managing Editor for the Journal of Public Administration Research and Theory from 1992-2000.

Nathan E. Hultman, University of Maryland, is assistant professor in the School of Public Policy and associate director of the Joint Global Change Research Institute, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory. His research focuses on international climate policy, decisions about climate risks in policy and private sector investment, and the emerging markets for carbon and greenhouse gases. Dr. Hultman has participated in the UN climate change process for over ten years and has attended and presented at negotiations and advisory sessions. From 2006-2007, he was a Visiting Fellow at the James Martin Institute for Science and Civilization, University of Oxford. A former Fulbright Fellow and NASA Earth Systems Science Fellow in climate sciences, he has also conducted research at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and NASA Goddard Space Flight Center.

Il Chung Kim, Dongguk University, is professor in the Department of International Trade. His major research fields are environmental economics and international trade. He currently serves as a Dean of International Programs and Education and as a director of the Ecological Research Center at Dongguk University. He has also served as co-chairman of Citizens Movement for Environmental Justice, one of the largest environmental NGOs in Korea. Dr. Kim has been a member of various committees in various levels of government and the private sector related to environmental and energy issues, including the National Energy Commission, Civilian Committee of Water Resource Management under the Office of Prime Minister, and several committees in the Ministry of Industry and Energy, Ministry of Environment, and Ministry of Construction and Transportation. He was awarded the Korea National Medal for his environmental conservation activities in 2006.

Hojeong Park, Korea University, is assistant professor in the Department of Food and Resource Economics, College of Life Sciences and Biotechnology. His research interests include energy policy and pollution. He is an associate editor at the Korea Environmental Economics Association, an editor of Korean Energy Economic Review, and a member of the Board of Directors of the Korea Resource Economics Association. Dr. Park has previously been assistant professor of economics at Chonnam National University, a research fellow at the Korea Energy Economics Institute, and a senior researcher at the Korea Development Institute. His works have been published in several journals, including Korean Journal of Public Finance and Energy Policy.

Ye Qi, Tshinghua University, has been Distinguished Professor of Environmental Policy and Management in the School of Public Policy and Management since 2004. Dr. Qi’s research areas include climate change impacts on ecosystems and biodiversity, global and regional carbon cycling, environmental and resource policy for sustainable development, and ecosystem management. He publishes extensively in and serves as a reviewer for a number of international journals including Science, Ecology, Ecological Modeling, Landscape Ecology, Climate Research, Critical Review in Plant Science, Global Change Biology, Global Biogeochemical Cycle, Tree Physiology, Canadian Journal of Forest Research, Agricultural and Forest Meteorology, Geographic Information Sciences, and Science in China. He has led numerous environment-related research projects with grants from the governments of either China or the United States.

Dong Cheon Shin, Yonsei University, is professor of economics in the Department of Economics. His research interests include international trade, resource and environmental economics, the North Korean economy, and computational economics. He has served as director of the Kim Dae-jung Presidential Library, director of the Institute for Korean Unification Studies, vice president of the Korean Resource Economic Association, Commissioner of the Korean Trade Commission, and editor of Korean Environmental Economic Review and Korean Resource Economic Journal. He is currently president of the Korean Environmental Economic Association.

Kazuhiro Ueta, Kyoto University, is professor at the Graduate School of Global Environmental Studies and the Graduate School of Economics. His current research areas include multi-level environmental governance for sustainable development, environmental taxation, environmental fiscal reform, economics of recycling for solid waste management, and international public finance. He is the recipient of the 2006 Research Award from the Society of Environmental Science, Japan, the 1997 Best Book of the Year Award by the Japan Society of Waste Management Experts, the 1993 Society Award of the Year by the Japan Society of Public Utility Economics, and the 1992 Society Encouragement Award of the Year by the Japan Society of Research and Information on Public and Co-operative Economy. Dr. Ueta’s publications include Economics of Recycling for Solid Waste Management (1992), and Environmental Economics (1996).

Eric W. Welch, University of Illinois at Chicago, is associate professor and a leader of the Science, Technology and Environment Policy Lab in the Department of Public Administration. His research focuses on technology processes in public organizations, environmental policy, science and technology policy, and R&D performance evaluation. Professor Welch teaches courses in innovation and technology theory, decision analysis, organization theory, and environmental policy in both the masters of public administration and Ph.D. programs. He has received research, scholarship, and fellowship awards from the National Science Foundation, the Hong Kong Research Grants Council, the Chicago Transportation Authority, the Japanese Ministry of the Environment, and the Japan Environment Agency, among others.

Back to Call for papers